13 Nov 14

Decade of success celebrated at EDF Energy London and South Media Awards

The Johnston title won the coveted prize at the event, held at the Amex Brighton and Hove Albion Stadium, on Thursday November 13.

Now in their tenth year the awards, held in association with holdthefrontpage.co.uk, honour the best in journalism across London and the South of England – Kent, Surrey, East and West Sussex, Berkshire, Hampshire and Dorset.

ITV Meridian News was named Television News or Current Affairs Programme of the Year, for its D-Day anniversary special. BBC Surrey won best Radio News or Current Affairs Programme of the Year for ‘The Surrey Shoebox’ report.

Paralympian Lauren Steadman and Andrew Brown, EDF Energy’s Brand Sustainability and External Communications Director, handed out the awards at the event, which helped raise money for The Journalists’ Charity.

Andrew Brown, of EDF Energy, said: “The awards are testimony to the commitment of EDF Energy to engage positively with the journalist community.

“Over the past decade they have become a benchmark and a seal of approval for the great journalism produced across the region. Congratulations to all the winners.”

Paul Linford, publisher of HoldtheFrontPage added: “The London and South of England awards have always been highly sought-after within the region and after ten years it’s great to see the level of entries continuing to grow.

“As usual the standard of those entries was incredibly high and choosing the winners was a tough challenge for the judges.”

The Kent and Sussex Courier took the Weekly Paid For Newspaper award. Kent on Sunday was announced as Weekly Free Newspaper of the Year.

BBC London’s Guy Lynn won Television Journalist of the Year, with Michael Coombes, of Wave 105, securing the Radio Journalist award. Claire French of The News, Portsmouth, was named Daily Print Journalist of the Year, and Rags Martel, of ITV London, Sports Journalist of the Year.

Kent Messenger Group’s kentonline.co.uk was crowned Website of the Year, the Southern Daily Echo Front Page of the Year. Sevenoaks Chronicle took the Newcomer of the Year award and The Argus won Photographer of the Year.

Two newspapers won three awards each. The News, Portsmouth, picked up daily newspaper, daily journalist and columnist of the year. Croydon Advertiser scooped digital journalist, weekly journalist and designer.

Gareth Davies, of the Croydon Advertiser, won two awards, Digital Journalist and Weekly Print Journalist, for the second year in a row.

Individual winners received a £100 cheque, certificate and trophy at the celebration presentation event courtesy of EDF Energy.

The full list of winners:

  • Newcomer of the Year: Sean-Paul Doran, Sevenoaks Chronicle
  • Digital Journalist of the Year: Gareth Davies, Croydon Advertiser
  • Specialist Journalist of the Year: Tara Russell, Southern Daily Echo
  • Sports Journalist of the Year: Rags Martel, ITV News London
  • Columnist of the Year: Jordan Cross, The News, Portsmouth
  • Feature Writer of the Year: Lesley Bellew, Kent Messenger Group
  • Designer of the Year: Alex Leys, Croydon Advertiser
  • Photographer of the Year: Liz Finlayson, The Argus
  • Radio Journalist of the Year: Michael Coombes, Wave 105
  • Television Journalist of the year: Guy Lynn, BBC London News
  • Weekly Print Journalist of the Year: Gareth Davies Croydon Advertiser
  • Daily Print Journalist of the Year: Claire French, The News, Portsmouth
  • Front Page of the Year: Southern Daily Echo, Never Lose Hope
  • Community Campaign of the Year: Battle Observer, Save Battle Fire Station
  • Website of the Year: Kent Messenger Group, www.kentonline.co.uk
  • Radio Programme of the Year: BBC Surrey, The Surrey Shoebox
  • Television Programme of the Year: ITV News Meridian, D-Day
  • Weekly (free) Newspaper of the Year: Kent on Sunday
  • Weekly (paid for) Newspaper of the Year: Kent and Sussex Courier
  • Daily Newspaper of the Year: The News, Portsmouth