Skip to main content

Community Update

By EDF | Posted September 10, 2019

10 September 2019

Dear SSG Member,

As a member of our community, I believe it is important to keep you updated on any developments at Hunterston B Power Station.

I wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that I will be taking on a new role as EDF Energy prepares for the next phase of the life cycle of the UK’s fleet of Advanced Gas Cooled Reactor (AGR) power stations. 

Starting this week I will be joining the company’s Waste and Decommissioning organisation as AGR Defueling Director.

In this post I will have responsibility for the delivery of the preparation and operational activities required to successfully defuel the AGR fleet as the stations reach the end of their generation phase.

I have worked at Hunterston B for 27 years, spending the past nine of them as Station Director. The team at Hunterston B is absolutely committed to operating a safe and efficient power station and it has been a real privilege to have spent such a large part of my career here.

I am looking forward to being able to further support Hunterston B in my new role and to ensure the successful delivery of a safe AGR defueling programme.

Paul Forrest will take on the role of Hunterston B Station Director on an interim basis. Paul has been Plant Manager at Torness since December 2017 and was Plant Manager at Hunterston B for 7 years before that so is familiar with the station and well placed to manage the site until a permanent replacement is found.

As this will be my last letter to the SSG on behalf of Hunterston B, I wanted to take this opportunity to thank-you for the support and challenge you have provided to me in my role over the years and wish you the best of luck for the future.

Colin Weir

Station Director


Colin Weir
Colin Weir

Related articles

Hunterston B
September 19, 2023

Defueling success as first reactor fuel free at Hunterston B in Scotland

A key milestone has been successfully met in the first phase of decommissioning the UK’s fleet of seven Advanced Gas-cooled Reactor (AGR) nuclear power stations.