EDF Energy power surge race raises £2k for local school

There was a lot of healthy competition, with the winner Dylan George from Chesterfield Athletics Club completing the race in the fastest time of 38m25s. Thomas Shaw from the Worksop Harriers followed in at 39m41s and Paul Turner-Johnson ran past the finish line at 41m37s.

Claiming the trophy for the ladies was Joanna Walker, who completed the 10K race in 43m21sm closely followed by Helen Effingham at 44m20. World record fell runner Nicky Spinks from the Dark Peak Fell Runners took third place at 46m32s.

The children’s fun run race was well attended with seventy runners. The first three places went to Riley Scott, Thomas Sweeting and Miya Lambert. Trophies, medals and EDF Energy's mascot 'zingy' prizes were awarded after the race.

One of the best results from the day was that proceeds from the race entry fee and a refreshment stall run by North Wheatley School’s PTFA has raised more than £2000. This will be presented to the school in the near future.

Organiser Leslie Gudalajtys said: “We were really pleased at the race take up, and a few familiar faces from the local EDF Energy power stations also resulted in West Burton A power station taking home the local trophy. We’re also grateful to our friends at North Wheatley Schools’ PTFA for helping to marshal the route. It’s been a great community event and has resulted in a hefty donation to one of the closest schools to the power station.”





Two ladies smiling while in conversation in an office

Latest news

Visit the EDF Energy media centre for all the latest news.


Lady smiling while in conversation with another lady

Our Customer Commitments

We are committed to delivering fair value, better service and simplicity.