3 Dec 13

Judging Panel for EDF Energy East of England Media Awards announced

Ian Carter, editorial director at KM Group, Glenn Ebrey, editor of the Croydon Advertiser and Ian Murray, editor of the Southern Daily Echo, are on the panel.

Joining them will be Simon Harris, ITV News London political correspondent, Andrew Worden, editor of the Crawley News, Deanne Blaylock, editor of the Surrey Mirror and Dorking Advertiser group, Andy Steggall of Pergall Media and BBC South, Simon Dack, photographer at The Argus and Paul Linford, editor of HoldtheFrontPage.

Judging will take place on Thursday December 5 at Local World’s head office in London, just off Kensington High Street.

Tim McCoy, EDF Energy’s Head of Media Relations, said: “It’s great news that the awards will be judged by a panel with such a vast amount of experience and expertise. They face a tough task to assess the work of some of the very best journalists, photographers and working across the East of England.”

Shortlists for the 20 categories will be announced via @EDFEnergyComms and @journalism_news on Twitter in late December, with the ceremony to be held in February. Now in their ninth year, the awards cover Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire (up to the M25).

Categories include news, sport, digital, features and specialist journalist of the year, radio journalist, TV journalist, campaign, front page, website, weekly and daily newspaper, radio and TV news programme of the year.

Follow @EDFEnergyComms and @journalism_news for latest awards’ news.