Skip to main content

Enter for the 2014 EDF Energy London & South of England Media Awards

By EDF | Posted August 04, 2014

Whilst the deadline may be four weeks away (5pm Friday August 29), journalists and others are being urged not to leave it until the very last minute to submit entries. Last year more than 300 entries were received, across 20 categories.

Held in association with the awards are in their tenth year and honour the best in journalism across Berkshire, Dorset, Hampshire, Kent, East and West Sussex, Surrey and the wider London area, as bounded by the M25.

Individual award winners receive a £100 cheque, certificate and trophy, and all those shortlisted, along with their guests, will be invited to a presentation ceremony courtesy of EDF Energy.

Material published between Monday 1 July 2013 and Wednesday July 16 2014 is eligible for the awards.

Click here to download the entry form and view the guidelines.

Entries should be emailed to

Entrants can submit work for as many categories as they wish but each must be accompanied by a separate entry form and approved by their editor.

Weekly and Daily Newspaper of the Year entries should be posted to: EDF Energy Media Awards, c/o Astley Media, 6 Northernhay House, Exeter, EX43QJ.

Broadcast entries can be emailed (e.g. through file-sharing services like WeTransfer or Dropbox) or posted to the above address on disk.

If you have any questions about the awards please email

Award categories

Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)

Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)

Radio Journalist of the Year

Television Journalist of the Year

Newcomer of the Year

Feature Writer of the Year

News Photographer of the Year

Designer of the Year

Sports Journalist of the Year

Digital Journalist of the Year

Specialist Journalist of the Year

Columnist of the Year

Daily Newspaper of the Year

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)

Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

Website of the Year

Front Page of the Year

Community Campaign of the Year