16 Jul 14

EDF Energy launches London and South of England Media Awards 2014

The EDF Energy London and South of England Media Awards 2014 have launched and are open for entry.

Held in association with HoldtheFrontPage, the awards are in their tenth year and honour the best in journalism across Berkshire, Dorset, Hampshire, Kent, East and West Sussex, Surrey and the wider London area, as bounded by the M25.

Individual award winners receive a £100 cheque, certificate and trophy, and all those shortlisted, along with their guests, will be invited to a presentation ceremony courtesy of EDF Energy.

Material published between Monday July 1 2013 and Wednesday July 16 2014 will be eligible for the awards.

The deadline for entries is 5pm Friday August 29.

You can download the entry form here and the guidelines here (click download on the right side of the page).

Last year’s winners included the Bournemouth Echo, which was named Daily Newspaper of the Year, Radio Programme of the Year LBC Radio 97.3 and ITV News London, which claimed the Television News Programme award. Other winners included The Croydon Advertiser, for Weekly Newspaper of the Year, and The Argus, for best community campaign.

There are 20 categories in all to choose from, covering daily and weekly newspapers, online news sites, radio and television broadcasters:

Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)
Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)
Radio Journalist of the Year
Television Journalist of the Year
Newcomer of the Year
Feature Writer of the Year
News Photographer of the Year
Designer of the Year
Sports Journalist of the Year
Digital Journalist of the Year
Specialist Journalist of the Year
Columnist of the Year
Daily Newspaper of the Year
Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)
Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)
Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
Website of the Year
Front Page of the Year
Community Campaign of the Year

Entrants can submit work for as many categories as they wish but each must be accompanied by a separate entry form and approved by their editor. Entries should be emailed to entries@edfenergyawards.com by 5pm Friday August 29.

Weekly and Daily Newspaper of the Year entries should be posted to: EDF Energy Media Awards, c/o Astley Media, 6 Northernhay House, Exeter, EX43QJ. Broadcast entries can be emailed (e.g. through file-sharing services like WeTransfer or Dropbox) or posted to the above address on disk. If you have any questions about the awards please email entries@edfenergyawards.com.