6 Oct 14

EDF Energy launches 10th Annual East of England Media Awards

Held in association with HoldtheFrontPage.co.uk, the awards are celebrating their tenth anniversary. They honour the best in journalism across Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire (up to the M25), Norfolk and Suffolk.

Individual award winners receive a £100 cheque, certificate and trophy, and all those shortlisted, along with their guests, will be invited to a presentation ceremony courtesy of EDF Energy.

Material published between 10 October 2013 and 5 October 2014 will be eligible for the awards. The final deadline for entries is 5pm Friday November 21.

Download the entry form and view the guidelines by clicking on the icons to the right.

Last year’s winners included the Eastern Daily Press, which was named Daily Newspaper of the Year, whilst BBC Radio Suffolk, was named Radio Programme of the Year for its StormWatch special, and ITV News Anglia claimed the Television News Programme award, for its coverage of the ‘Fast Eddie’ trial, and special reports on the 50th anniversary of the Beeching rail cuts.

Covering North Hertfordshire and mid Bedfordshire, The Comet was Weekly Free Newspaper of the Year 2013, whilst the Lowestoft Journal won Weekly Paid for Newspaper award. Website of the Year was Cambridge News Online, cambridge-news.co.uk.

There are 20 categories to choose from, covering daily and weekly newspapers, online news sites, radio and television broadcasters:

  • Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)
  • Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)
  • Radio Journalist of the Year
  • Television Journalist of the Year
  • Newcomer of the Year
  • News Photographer of the Year
  • Designer of the Year
  • Sports Journalist of the Year
  • Digital Journalist of the Year
  • Specialist Journalist of the Year
  • Feature Writer of the Year
  • Columnist of the Year
  • Website of the Year
  • Front Page of the Year
  • Community Campaign of the Year
  • Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
  • Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
  • Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)
  • Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)
  • Daily Newspaper of the Year

Entrants can submit work for as many categories as they wish but each must be accompanied by a separate entry form and approved by their editor.

Entries should be emailed to entries@edfenergyawards.com by 5pm Friday November 21.

Weekly and Daily Newspaper of the Year entries should be posted to: EDF Energy Media Awards, c/o Astley Media, 6 Northernhay House, Exeter, EX4 3QJ.

Broadcast entries can be emailed (e.g. through file-sharing services like WeTransfer or Dropbox) or posted to the above address on disk.

If you have any questions about the awards please email entries@edfenergyawards.com

A video of the previous East of England award ceremony can be found here: http://bit.ly/1njjEF1