Skip to main content

Deadline extended for EDF Energy South West Media Awards 2014

By EDF | Posted April 22, 2014

Celebrating the 10th annual event, the awards recognise the best journalism across Bath, Bristol, Cornwall, Devon, Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire.

The final deadline for the free-to-enter awards is now 5pm on Friday May 2.

Held in association with HoldtheFrontPage, 20 categories cover newspapers, radio, television and online journalism. Individual award winners receive a £100 cheque, certificate and trophy, and all those shortlisted will be invited to an awards ceremony, to be held in early July.

The individual categories are newcomer, digital, specialist, weekly print, daily print, sport, radio and television journalist of the year, along with designer, photographer, feature writer and columnist. Group categories recognise best front page, community campaign, website, radio and television news or current affairs programme, weekly free and paid for newspapers and daily newspaper of the year.

Material published between March 4 2013 and March 18 2014 will be eligible. Online entries are being accepted for the first time.

Entry guidelines and the entry form can be downloaded at the side of this webpage.

Completed entry forms, along with three samples of work, attached as files, should be sent to:

For weekly free newspaper, weekly paid for newspaper, and daily newspaper, entries should be posted to:

EDF Energy Media Awards, C/O Astley Media, 6 Northernhay Place, Exeter, Devon, Ex4 3QJ.

Broadcast entries (entry form and three pieces of work) can be emailed as file attachments, or posted on disk to the above address.

Entrants can submit work for as many categories as they wish but each entry must be accompanied by a separate entry form and approved by their editor or senior editorial executive.

If you have any questions or queries about the awards, email:

You can find videos of previous awards ceremonies here.