Skip to main content

DEADLINE EXTENDED: EDF East of England Media Awards 2013

By EDF | Posted November 11, 2013

The awards are now in their ninth year and honour the best in journalism across Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, Cambridgshire, Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire (up to the M25)

Categories include daily, weekly paid-for and weekly free newspaper, radio and television news/current affairs programmes of the year, website and community campaign, along with news, sport, specialist and digital journalist of the year.

Individual award winners receive a £100 cheque, certificate and trophy, and all those shortlisted, along with their guests, will be invited to a presentation ceremony courtesy of EDF Energy.

Tim McCoy, EDF Energy’s Head of Media Relations, said: “We’re delighted to hold the media awards for the East of England once again. It’s a region with a long history of quality journalism which I’m sure will be reflected in this year’s entries across newspapers, radio and television.”

Material published between 15 October 2012 and 9 October 2013 will be eligible for the awards.

You can download the entry form here and view the entry guidelines here.

Last year’s winners included the Basildon Echo, which was named Daily Newspaper of the Year, BBC Radio Essex, ITV Anglia, Bedford Midweek, Brentwood Gazette and, for community campaign and website of the year, the Norwich Evening News.

There are 20 categories in all to choose from, covering daily and weekly newspapers, radio and television broadcasters:

Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)

Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)

Radio Journalist of the Year

Television Journalist of the Year

Newcomer of the Year

Feature Writer of the Year

News Photographer of the Year

Designer of the Year

Sports Journalist of the Year

Digital Journalist of the Year

Specialist Journalist of the Year

Columnist of the Year

Daily Newspaper of the Year

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)

Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

Website of the Year

Front Page of the Year

Community Campaign of the Year

People can submit work for as many categories as they wish but each must be accompanied by a separate entry form and approved by their editor. Entries should be emailed to by 5pm, Friday November 22.

Weekly and Daily Newspaper of the Year entries should be posted to: Media Relations Team, EDF Energy, 329 Portland Road, Hove, East Sussex BN3 5SU. If you have any questions or queries about the awards please email

For the latest award news follow @edfenergycomms and use the hashtag #EDFAwards to see what other journalists are saying about the event.