main content

The shortlist for the EDF Energy South West Media Awards 2012, held in association with Hold The Front Page, has been announced.

All those shortlisted, along with their guests, will be invited to a celebration presentation event, courtesy of EDF Energy, where individual award winners will receive a £100 cheque, as well as a certificate and trophy.

On the judging panel, which met on Thursday May 3, were John Deex, group digital editor at Cambridge News, Nigel Pickover, editor at the Evening Star, John Elworthy, editor at Cambs Times, Neville Wilson, editor at Brentwood Gazette, David Powles, deputy editor at Eastern Daily Press, David Harvey, managing editor at BBC Radio Cambridge, Emma Baker, ITV Anglia correspondent, Dave Harwood, picture editor at Cambridge News and Dan Pritchard, EDF Energy regional media manager.

The awards ceremony will take place at the National Trust’s Assembly Rooms in Bath on Thursday 28 June.

Follow us on Twitter for the latest awards’ news – including live updates and winner announcements.

Newcomer of the Year

Scott D'arcy, Swindon Advertiser

Emma Dunn, Swindon Advertiser

Robert Golledge, Western Gazette

Toby Meyjes, The Cornishman

Laura Shack, Wilts & Gloucestershire Standard

Nicholas Webster, Western Gazette

Environmental Journalist of the Year

Martin Hesp, Western Morning News

Suzanne Savill, Bristol Evening Post

Business Journalist of the Year

Jonathan Gibson, ITV Westcountry

Michael Ribbeck, Bristol Evening Post

Liz Parks, Western Morning News

News Photographer of the Year

Richard Austin, Western Morning News

James Douglas, Swindon Advertiser

Barbara Evripidiou, Bristol Evening Post

Stuart Harrison, Swindon Advertiser

Laura Jones, Western Gazette

Jon Kent, Bristol Evening Post

Sports Journalist of the Year

Steve Cotton, Bristol Evening Post

Andrew Jones, North Devon Journal

James McNamara, Bristol Evening Post

Nick Purewal, The Citizen

Feature Writer of the Year

Lyn Barton, Western Morning News

Jackie Butler, Western Morning News

Dominic Harris, Bristol Evening Post

Janet King, Western Morning News

Columnist of the Year

Tom Bradshaw, Bath Chronicle

Sarah Feeley, Bristol Evening Post

Barrie Hudson, Swindon Advertiser

Gillian Molesworth, Western Morning News

Becky Sheaves, Western Morning News

Designer of the Year

Jo Kidby, ITV Westcountry

David Lewins, Bristol News & Media

Joyce Matthews, Gloucestershire Media

Radio Journalist of the Year

Martin Jones, BBC Somerset

Robin Markwell, BBC Bristol

Graham Smith, BBC Radio Cornwall

Television Journalist

Steve Brodie, BBC Points West

Jonathan Gibson, ITV Westcountry

Matthew Hill, BBC West

Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)

Ginette Davies, West Briton

Chloe Hubbard, North Devon Journal

Oliver Hulme, Mid Somerset News & Media

Nicholas Webster, Western Gazette

Richard Wevill, Mid Devon Gazette

Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)

Geoff Bennett, Bristol Evening Post

Katie Bond, Swindon Advertiser

Emily Koch, Bristol Evening Post

Tristan Nichols, The Herald (Plymouth)

Website of the Year


Community Campaign of the Year

Packet Newspapers- Save Our Station

The Cornishman - Hands Off Our Hospital

West Briton – Who Cares?

West Briton – Joshua’s Dreams

West Briton- Falmouth First

Front Page of the Year

Up in smoke? - Cornish Guardian

Handchuffed- Swindon Advertiser

The final day- Swindon Advertiser

Can do - Swindon Advertiser

Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

Hospital Radio Plymouth - Community Events Programming

BBC Radio Cornwall - Laurence Reed’s Lunchtime Phone-in

BBC Radio Somerset - Matt Faulkner at Breakfast

Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

BBC Inside Out West - Special Edition

ITV West & Westcountry, The West Country Tonight - M5 Crash

ITV West & Westcountry, The West Country Tonight - America's Cup Special

ITV West & Westcountry, The West Country Tonight - The Queen on the Scillies

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)

Midweek Herald

Nailsea, Clevedon & Portishead Times

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)

Exmouth Journal

North Devon Journal

Western Gazette

The Cornishman

Daily Newspaper of the Year

Bristol Evening Post

The Citizen

Swindon Advertiser

Western Morning News

For further information about the EDF Energy Regional Media Awards please contact Charlotte Mitchell at EDF Energy or Paul Linford at Hold The Front Page.